Conservatives Retain Control of Horsham District Council

Following the local elections on Thursday 2 May, voters returned the Conservatives with a large majority ensuring that we retained control of Horsham District Council. While some Councillors were lost, new Conservatives also came on to the Council for the first time. This result ensures that the Conservatives continue to deliver excellent local services for our residents across the District at the lowest possible cost.

Voters elected 48 District Councillors, up from 44 due to a boundary review.

The make-up of the Council is now as follows;

Conservatives: 32 (retains overall control)
Liberal Democrats:13 
Green: 2
Ind: 1

The average turnout was 35.1%. The results and turnouts by ward can be viewed below.

Chris Brown (CON), Nigel Jupp (CON) and Kate Rowbottom (CON) have been elected with 993, 942 and 778 votes respectively.
Turnout: 29%

Bramber, Upper Beeding and Woodmancote
Michael Croker (GREEN) and Roger Noel (CON) have been elected with 702 and 636 votes respectively.
Turnout: 35%

Broadbridge Heath
Matthew Allen (LIB DEM) and Louise Potter (LIB DEM) have been elected with 613 and 722 votes respectively.
Turnout: 30%

Colgate and Rusper:
Antony Hogben (CON) and Elizabeth Kitchen (CON) have been elected with 618 and 684 votes respectively.
Turnout: 27%

Cowfold, Shermanbury and West Grinstead
Jonathan Chowen (CON) and Lynn Lambert (CON) have been elected with 894 and 901 votes respectively.
Turnout: 32%

Ruth Fletcher (LIB DEM), Frances Haigh (LIB DEM) and Belinda Walters (LIB DEM) have been elected with 1287, 1216 and 1221 votes respectively.
Turnout: 35%

Colin Minto (LIB DEM), Godfrey Newman (LIB DEM) and David Skipp (LIB DEM) have been elected with 1120, 1224 and 1305 votes respectively.
Turnout: 44%

Mike Morgan (IND) and Josh Potts (CON) have been elected with 1088 and 614 votes respectively.
Turnout: 41%

Holbrook East
Andrew Baldwin (CON) and Karen Burgess (CON) have been elected with 762 and 689 votes respectively.
Turnout: 33%

Holbrook West
Peter Burgess (CON) and Christian Mitchell (CON) have been elected with 852 and 830 votes respectively.
Turnout: 35%

Itchingfield, Slinfold and Warnham
Stuart Ritchie (CON) and Tricia Youtan (CON) have been elected with 707 and 732 votes respectively.
Turnout: 34%

Nuthurst and Lower Beeding
Antoinette Bradnum (CON) has been elected with 571 votes.
Turnout: 42%

Pulborough, Coldwaltham and Amberley
Paul Clarke (CON), Brian Donnelly (CON) and Diana  Van Der Klugt (CON) have been elected with 901, 886 and 837 votes respectively.
Turnout: 32%

Roffey North
Anthony Bevis (LIB DEM) and John Milne (LIB DEM) have been elected with 790 and 732 votes respectively.
Turnout: 34%

Roffey South
Alan Britten (LIB DEM) and Roy Cornell (CON) have been elected with 553 and 561 votes respectively.
Turnout: 28%

Richard Landeryou (CON) has been elected with 524 votes.
Turnout: 36%

Southwater North
Billy Greening (CON) and Claire Vickers (CON) have been elected with 842 and 814 votes respectively.
Turnout: 37%

Southwater South and Shipley
Gordon Lindsay (CON) and Ian Stannard (CON) have been elected with 675 and 639 votes respectively.
Turnout: 32%

Steyning and Ashurst
Bob Platt (GREEN) and Tim Lloyd (CON) have been elected with 864 and 842 votes respectively.
Turnout: 41%

Storrington and Washington
Ray Dawe (CON), Paul Marshall (CON) and James Sanson (CON) have been elected with 1584, 1439 and 1536 votes respectively.
Turnout: 35%

Leonard Crosbie (LIB DEM) and Christine Costin (LIB DEM) have been elected with 1155 and 1243 votes respectively.
Turnout: 45%

West Chiltington, Thakeham and Ashington
Philip Circus (CON), John Blackall (CON) and Jack Saheid (CON) have been elected with 1409, 1443 and 1184 votes respectively.
Turnout: 36%